Disctricts in Karnataka

There are 29 districts in Karnataka. Districts of North Karnataka are Belgaum, Bijapur, Bagalkot, Bidar, Bellary, Gulbarga, Yadagiri, Raichur, Gadag, Dharwad, Haveri, Koppal and Uttara Kannada District. Cities in the region are Belgaum, Hubli, Dharwad, Bellary, Bijapur, Gulbarga, Bidar, Karwar , Sirsi, Chikodi and Gokak. Districts of South Karnataka Bangalore, Chamarajanagar, Chikkaballapur, Kodagu, Kolar, Hassan, Mandya, Mysore, Ramanagara and Tumkur.

  1. Bagalkote
  2. Bengaluru Rural
  3. Bengaluru Urban
  4. Belgaum
  5. Bellary
  6. Bidar
  7. Bijapur
  8. Chamarajanagar
  9. Chikkaballapur
  10. Chikkamagaluru
  11. Chitradurga
  12. Dakshina Kannada
  13. Davanagere
  14. Dharwad
  15. Gadag
  16. Gulbarga
  17. Hassan
  18. Haveri
  19. Kodagu
  20. Kolar
  21. Koppal
  22. Mandya
  23. Mysore
  24. Raichur
  25. Ramanagara
  26. Shimoga
  27. Tumkur
  28. Udupi and
  29. Uttara Kannada

Bagalkote was earlier known as Bagadige.
Area sq. km: 6,575
Population: 1,651,892
Headquarters: Bagalkot

Bangalore (officially Bengalooru) is the capital of Karnataka state.
Area sq. km: 2,190
Population: 6,537,124
Headquarters: Bangalore

Bengaluru Rural
Area sq. km: 5,815
Population: 1,881,514
Headquarters: Bangalore

Belgaum is located in northwestern parts of Karnataka.
Area sq. km: 13,415
Population: 4,214,505
Headquarters: Belgaum

Bellary city, is spread mainly around two huge rocky granite hills, the Ballari Gudda and Kumbara Gudda.
Area sq. km: 8,450
Population: 2,027,140
Headquarters: Bellary

Bidar district is located in the north-eastern corner of Karnataka.
Area sq. km: 5,448
Population: Population: 1,502,373
Headquarters: Bidar

presents a tourist the variety of medieval monuments, which represents Islamic architecture in India.
Area sq. km: 10,494
Population: 1,806,918
Headquarters: Bijapur

Chamarajanagar district was bifurcated from Mysore district.
Area sq. km: 5,101
Population: 965,462
Headquarters: Chamarajanagar

Chikkaballapura district is a newly created district of Karnataka in 2007.

Chikmagalur is situated in south western part of Karnataka.
Area sq. km: 7,201
Population: 1,140,905
Headquarters: Chikmagalur

Chitradurga is located in the heart of the Deccan Plateau; Chitradurga is recognized as the land of courage and chivalry.
Area sq. km: 8,440
Population: 1,517,896
Headquarters: Chitradurga

Dakshina Kannada
Dakshina Kannada is a coastal district in Karnataka state and it was known as South Canara.
Area sq. km: 4,560
Population: 1,897,730
Headquarters: Mangalore

Davangere is an important commercial, industrial and educational centre.
Area sq. km: 5,924
Population: 1,790,952
Headquarters: Davangere

Dharwad, also known as Dharwar, has a history of more than 900 years.
Area sq. km: 4,260
Population: 1,604,253
Headquarters: Dharwad

Gadag District was formed in 1997. Gadag is famous for printing press and handloom.
Area sq. km: 4,656
Population: 971,835
Headquarters: Gadag

Gulbarga situated in the northern part of Karnataka State.
Area sq. km: 16,224
Population: 3,130,922
Headquarters: Gulbarga

Hassan district is also known for its salubrious climate.
Area sq. km: 6,814
Population: 1,721,669
Headquarters: Hassan

Haveri is famous for its cardamom and Byadagi red chillies.
Area sq. km: 4,823
Population: 1,439,116
Headquarters: Haveri

Kodagu is also called by the anglicized name of Coorg.
Area sq. km: 4,102
Population: 548,561
Headquarters: Madikeri

Kolar district is the eastern gateway to Karnataka. Kolar has become popularly known as the "Golden Land" of India.
Area sq. km: 8,223
Headquarters: Kolar

Koppal district was separated from Raichur district.
Area sq. km: 7,189
Headquarters: Koppal

Mandya district derives its name from its Administrative headquarters town.
Area sq. km: 4,961
Headquarters: Mandya

Mysore is also called as city of Palaces. Mysore district is a famous tourist spot.
Area sq. km: 6,854
Headquarters: Mysore

Raichur district is ensconced between the Krishna on the North and the Tungabhadra on the South. Area sq. km: 6,827
Population: 1,669,762

Ramanagara is situated in a valley surrounded by rocky hillocks on Bangalore - Mysore Highway.

Shimoga is an important tourist destination, industrial, commercial, fine arts and educational centre.
Area sq. km: 8,477
Population: 1,642,545
Headquarters: Shimoga

Tumkur town is located at a distance of 70 km from Bangalore.
Area sq. km: 10,597
Population: 2,584,711
Headquarters: Tumkur

Udupi district is located in the coastal region of Western Ghats about 60 km from Mangalore.
Area sq. km: 3,880
Population: 1,112,243
Headquarters: Udupi

Uttara Kannada
Uttara Kannada is one of the major tourist districts in the state.
Area sq. km: 10,291
Population: 1,353,644
Headquarters: Karwar

Kanara Region

Kanara (Canara, Karavali and Coastal Karnataka) region of Karnataka, comprises three coastal districts, namely Dakshina Kannada and Udupi district (South Canara) and Uttara Kannada (North Canara). Kanara forms the southern part of the Konkan coast. The length of this region from north to south is around 300 kilometres (190 mi) while the width varies from 30 to 110 kilometres (19 to 68 mi). The region is characterized by swaying palms and swift brooks running towards the Arabian Sea.

The three districts in the region, Uttara Kannada, Udupi and Dakshina Kannada have their headquarters in Karwar, Udupi and Mangalore respectively. The region is bounded on the east by the Western Ghats and on the west by the Arabian Sea. The coastal strip between the Western Ghats and the sea, including Kanara and the state of Goa and coastal Maharashtra to the north, is known as the Konkan coast, while the coast of Kerala is known as the Malabar coast. Many rivers which originate in western ghats flow westwards to join Arabian (Lakshadweep) sea like Netravathi, Sharavathi, Aghashini, Gurupura (Phalguni or Kuluru), Pavanje (Nandini), Panchagangavali, Swarna etc. Over the years the water flow has decreased due to deforestation and clearing of forests for building dams across these rivers and their tributaries. The soil consists of alluvial, sandy foam and laterite.