Lalbagh Botanical Garden
Lalbagh Botanical Garden in Bangalore is considered to be one of the most diverse botanical garden in South Asia. Lalbagh Botanical Garden is located in the southern part of Bangalore, about 4 km from Vidhana Soudha and M.G. Road. Lalbagh has four approach gates - main gate is North facing towards Subbaiah circle, the West gate is towards Basavanagudi, the South gate is towards Jayanagar and the East gate is towards the Double Road. Things to see in Lalbagh and what are the major things to see in Lalbagh are detailed here.
Lalbagh Flower Show on January 26 2019
Republic Day honors the date on which the Constitution of India came into force on 26 January 1950. A 12-foot-tall fibreglass statue of a meditating Mahatma Gandhi will be the main attraction at the 209th Lalbagh Republic Day flower show. The statue of Mahatma Gandhi, created by Karnataka Chitrakala Parishath principal Jithendra Bhavni, will be placed atop a six-foot-tall seat, which will be decorated with 250 bundles of flowers like orchids, anthurium, carnations, chrysanthemums and dracaena leaves.
Marking the 150th birth anniversary of the Mahatma, the flower show will house a recreation of his cottage in Wardha Ashram decorated with chrysanthemums and orchids, models of the three monkeys communicating Gandhi's message, a replica of Gandhi and his glasses made entirely of millets and a sculpture of the Dandi March.
In order to pay tribute to Mahatma Gandhi, the Horticulture department will have several floral and millet-based installations related to Gandhi during the upcoming bi-annual flower show. The millet statues will be made using Baragu (Proso millet), Navane (Foxtail millet), Araka (Kodo millet) and Ragi (Finger Millet). The wall of the glass house will depict his milestones in Karnataka, 100 messages of Gandhi and quotes about him by famous people such as Nelson Mandela.
Sabarmati Ashram is also being recreated at the heart of the Glass House, with 20 labourers having built an ashram in 15 days. In addition, 45 people will be working for three days to decorate the ashram with 2.4 lakh red roses, 3.2 lakh white chrysanthemums and 80,000 orange roses.
For the first time, Bengalureans will be able to catch a glimpse of the Darjeeling Cymbidium flowers, an orchid grown at a height of 10,000 feet above sea level. During the festival, 250 species of these orchids, which will come in 76 colours, will be displayed at the Glass House in the shape of a pyramid. Near the tank inside Lalbagh, a mini-fall has been constructed and water will be released from this waterfall 10 times every day over the course of the show.
Flower show tickets are priced at Rs 70 for adults and Rs 20 for children. On January 26, school students get free entry. Tickets can be bought at the venue and online.
Apart from Glass House and Band Stand, that usually gets decorated with flowers, this time there would be longer lasting flowers in more than 60 spots, including foothill of Kempegowda towers, director's campus, DHO Lawn, Tree Fossil area, Java Fig area.
► Lalbagh Botanical Garden Timings Entry Fee
Around 4 lakh people visited Lalbagh Flower Show in January 2019, of which over 1.3 lakh were children.
Lalbagh was established during the time of Hyder Ali on the model of Mogul garden at Sira. It was later enlarged by his son Tippu Sultan, who enriched this garden by the addition of varieties of flower plants by procuring seeds and plants from Kabul, Persia, Mauritius and Turkey. Major Waugh, Dr. Wallich, William Munroe, Sir Mark Cubbon, Dr. Cleghorn, William New, A. Blck, John Cameron, Krumbeigal, Rao Bahadur H.C. Javaraya, K. Nanjappa and Dr. M.H. Marigowda, as the Superintendents of the garden, have made noteworthy contributions to the development of Lalbagh.
► Lalbagh BMTC Bus Services Timings
► Architects of Modern Lalbagh Botanical Garden
Lalbagh is currently under the aegis of the Directorate of Horticulture, Government of Karnataka. The Directorate is housed amidst the splendid environs of the botanical garden. Lalbagh was given the status of a Government Botanical Garden in 1856, and since then, it has been an internationally renowned centre for scientific study of plants and botanical artwork and also conservation of plants. Formal and informal styles dominate the garden in perfect harmony, which is a testimony to the beauty of nature. Today, the garden is a lush green paradise with an area of 240 acres in the heart of the city.
Lalbagh remains open daily from 6.00 a.m. to 7.00 p.m. throughout the year.
Biannual flower shows are organized every year in January and August on the occasion of the Republic Day and Independence Day celebrations respectively.
Of the many artistic structures in Lalbagh, the Glass House is the most famous. In the necklace of Bangalore's gardens, Lalbagh is a pendant and in the centre of this pendant is the glass house in the form of a diamond. It was built in 1889 during the administration of Sri John Cameron to commemorate the visit of Prince of Wales. Designed on the lines of the Crystal Palace of England, it was intended for acclimatizing the exotic plant specimens. Today, as the jewel of Lalbagh, it is the centre stage for holding the famous biannual flower shows.
The Bandstand, Lecture Hall, Lalbagh House, Pigeon House, Statue of Sri Chamaraja Wodeyar, the Directorate Building, Lalbagh West Gate Guard Room, the Museum and Cottage which now house some of the department offices, main gate of Lalbagh (Cameron gate), Deer Paddock, Aquarium building, Aviary and Kempegowda Tower are other artistic structures that can be seen in Lalbagh. Lalbagh lake is an important location of interest. The plant wealth, distributed in various sections such as the Arboretum, Erythrina Plot, Topiary, Rosary, Centenary Garden, Economic Garden, Fruit Garden, Floral Clock, Cypress Lawn, Aviary Shade Garden, Terrace Garden, Statue Garden, Band Stand Garden, Ficus Lawn, Fern House, Rockeries, Lotus Pond, Magnolia Lawn, Japanese Garden, Pencil Cedar Avenue, Cacti House, Indoor Garden, Orchid House and a collection of Crotons, Bougainvilleas, Palms, Aquatics, Aroids, Bamboos etc., are worth seeing. The tree fossil is another object of interest in Lalbagh.
The oldest structure in Lalbagh is "Kempegowda Tower". It is about four hundred and fifty years old constructed by the celebrated Kempegowda, ruler FO Yalanka Nad and founder of Bangalore city . He constructed four such towers at four cardinal points out side the town. He predicted that the town would extend up to these limits set by him.
The centuries-old watchtower at Lalbagh, constructed during the regime of Nadaprabhu Kempegowda. Kempegowda had built it as a watch tower and as an indication of his territorial limits.
Lal Bagh is aesthetically designed, with lawns, flower beds, lotus pools fountains and a floral clock. Floral clock was gifted by HMT in 1983. Floral Clock is 7 meter wide. The clock machinery is embedded underground and works on electronic quartz mechanism. It is surrounded by Snow White and the seven dwarfs and is close to Statue Garden.
Lalbagh Glass House
The construction of the present Glass House was concaved in the year 1888 by the then superintendent of Lalbagh, J.Cameron. He proposed the construction of Glass House for the sole purpose of holding horticultural show as a conservation. The proposal was placer before the government of Maharaja of Mysore. His Highness Sri Chamaraja Wodeyar who sanctioned the proposal in the year 1889. The design and architecture of this building was prepared the MacFarlane and company, Glasgow, England and the same was approval. The construction of the magnificient building was also entrusted to M/s MacFarlane and company. The supervision of the construction was entrusted to Mr.Scaldwell who was Executive Engineer in the Public Works Department.
Originally there was a plan to accommodate office room, library and herbarium in one of the wings of the Glass House, later it was decided to have only the exhibition main hall with side wings. The Prince of Wales, his Royal Highness, Albert Victor, laid the foundation of the Glass House on 30th November 1889, completed in the year 1890. It was named after him as 'Albert Victor Conservatory'.
The Glass House is in the form of cross constructed on the model of Crystal Palace of England. It has a main hall measuring 160x80 ft, two wings at right angle to the hall measuring 60x40ft, each and basement with a height of 3 ft. The whole structure is fabricated out of iron and glass. It is a handsome edifice, looks, elegant with terrace gardens in the front and green lawns at either side in the form of crescent shape.
It is circular wooden structure with artistic elevated roof supported by wooden pillars which are fixed to a granite platform. The band stand is located almost in the centre of Lalbagh gardens, and it is surrounded by lush green lawns encircled by paraphet walls. The garden laid out around the band stand is in form of terrace. Panoramic views of GlassHouse towards east and topiary garden towards west can be had from Band stand.
Band stand has completed hundred years of its existance in Lalbagh. Its construction was contemplated by Mr. Willliam New, Superintendent of Lalbagh during 1858064, but it is evident from records that it was constructed prior to 1870. Mr Cameron, Superintendent of Lalbagh between 1874-1908, recorded in this report that the Band stand was repaired, the granite platform was added, and the wooden roof improved. He also recorded that flowershows were conducted annually in the Band stand prior to construction of conservatory (glass house) in 1980. It is called band Stand, because military band used to be played in this structure on weekend holidays since its construction. Lateron, this military band gave way to the orchestra as it was becoming more popular. Till 1976, the orchestra used to be arranged in the band Stand on week end holidays.
Even to this day, the Band stand is one of the most handsome of all the structures, barring Glass House in Lalbagh.
Horticultural Lecture Hall
It is a tile roofed tiny building located at one of the shade gardens surrounding the Statue. The building is of unique style, is having a mini verandah in front and a hall inside which is spacious enough to accommodate about fifty persons. Its northern facade is decorated with mortar display of state symbol of erstwhile Mysore Royal Government. It must have roof are scribed to have been manufactured in the same year.
It is called lecture hall, since lectures on horticulture used to be given in this building to the students enrolled for diploma in Horticulture during early early part of this century. It is presumed, the building was constructed for the same purpose. After abolition of the diploma course in Horticulture, lectures on Horticulture were arranged in the building on Sundays. Later on the Government have sanctioned the Mali (Gardeners) training school at Lalbagh as well as at other important places in the state, therby its use as lecture hall became limited. Finally, when building and class rooms were raised at south east end of Lalbagh for a Mali Training School, the lecture hall lost its past glory of having been the Alma Mater for many students. Attempts were made to start a canteen for staff of Lalbagh during early part of present decade. Somehow it was not favoured to be canteen, and remained as centre for garden workers to give their attendance. It stands there as a relic of its grandeur of having ben a lecture hall.
It is an elegant cottage with spacious halls, suites, drawing room, kitchen, store room, and handsome portico. It served as dwelling house for the Superintendent of Garden for more than a century. Till recently, Director of Horticulture was privileged to dwell in the cottage. During the year 1988, this magnificent cottage was renovated and as per the Government decision Lalbagh library was shifted to this building. It is named after Dr.M.H.Marigowda, Ex-Director of Horticulture, by the then Chief Minister of Karnataka. Now, it is called "Dr.M.H.Marigowda National Horticultural Library". The library in this building is being used by departmental staff and officers of allied institutions. Interested public may also visit library for study of horticulture.
The origin of the building is tracked back to the early part of last century. In the year 1939. When the garden was managed by the Agri. Hoticultural Society, its Secretary Mr. William Munro reported to head office that heavy expences were caused by constructing seed house and dwelling house for the Superintendent of the Garden. Again it was recorded in subsequent reports of 1856 that an amount of Rs. 200/- was spent for the cottage. Mr. Cameron in his report of 1890 recorded that the dwelling cottage was extended and improved with floor tiles. All these records give clue that the cottage was constructed in 1839 and periodically extended and improved to the stage that it is now. It has completed its purposeful existence of one and half Century.
Pigeon House is a tiny, cylindrical shaped structure, built in the last century. It is a dove cot otherwise called as pigeon house. It has a circular room with a height of about fifteen feet and has artistic holes round the wall towards top. The holes contain enough space in each for a pair of pigeons. It was constructed in the year 1893, when Mr.Cameron was the Superintendent of Lalbagh. It was his innovative idea to give enough freedom to the pigeons kept in the cages earlier, and also to allow them to find their own food. The structure is in the form of turret and it offers accommodation for about hundred pairs of pigeons as there are so many holes in rows one above the other. The space within the structure is sufficient for a watchman to dwell-in. The room is fitted with a door having facilities for locking.
Statue of Chamaraja Wodeyar
The most artistic and elegant structure in Lalbagh is the statue of His Highness Chamaraja Wodeyar, the then Maharaja of Mysore (1881-1894). The statue was originally erected at Curzon Park in Mysore City. After having secured better one for that place, it was decided to shift this statue to Bangalore city. In the year 1908, when Krumbiegal was Superintendent of Lalbagh, the statue was shifted to Bangalore city and installed at one of the better portions of Lalbagh. It is a metallic, equestrian statue, painted with black colour. The statue is installed on marble pedestal of about ten feet height. The pedestal has main dais for setting the main statue and also has four mini dais in four angular directions, on each of them was a mini statuette earlier. Now, they are not there. It is learnt that they have been stolen. The east and west faces of the pedestal have alcoves with inner conclave surface painted with metallic gold colour. In both the alcoves there are medium sized metallic statue painted in the black. Each of these two statuettes give symbolic meaning as one is of a blind folded person holding balance in the hand, other one is of a lady exposing the bossom.
This section of Lalbagh is called 'Statue Garden' having an oval layout. Throughout the year there will be blooms in this garden as different flowering trees are planted all along the periphery of oval garden.
It is a magnanimous structure with artistic feature on effective architectural style. The main entrance hall is quite spacious, and it has artistic wide windows and doors. The entire hall is covered with a high pyramidal roof of zinc sheets below and tiles above. The hall is well ventilated with two windows to front and four windows to back. The roof if surmounted by a dome. The dome allows luxuriant sunlight into hall. On either side of the main hall, there is another hall which is also quite spacious and well ventilated. Each of the adjoining halls has a room adjacent to it and also has door towards front side and to the room. Thus, the whole structure has three halls and two rooms.
The main entrance hall is divided into two portions by wooden (screen) partion. The front portion. The front portion houses reception section and the back portion is used as mini meeting hall. The halls at either sides are being used as office chambers by, Directorate staff. The corner room to the right of the building is used as office chamber by the Director of Horticulture and the room to the left of the building is used as office chamber by joint Director of Administration.
The history of this structure goes back to the early decades of the present century. This building was constructed in 1920 when Mr. Krumbeigal was the Director of Horticulture. Mr. Krumbiegal proposed to the government for construction of the building with intention to start Horticultural institute (college) in it. He planned to make accommodation in the building for Library, Bureau of Economic Botany, Herbarium, Museums of Natural History, Laboratory and Lecture (class) room. The proposal of Mr. Krumbeigal was partly approved by Government to the extent of the building as it stands today.
This building is in same shape as it was when constructed except the roof. Originally, the roof was wholly glass. In the year 1927, the roof was removed and re-roofed with zinc sheets below and tiles above. This alteration was done to provide office accommodation for the consulting architect in addition to his original duties as Director of Horticulture. Later, the building accommodated both his oofices. Hence, the building may befittingly called as brain child of Mr. Krumbeigal. Even to this day there is no other brick building in lalbagh comparable to it in artistic features, architectural style, ornamentation, accommodation and more so in strength. The vast frontage with a elevated lawn in the centre and greenery at all sides lend beauty and serenity to the building. From a distance, the view is panoramic and grand.
Lalbagh West Gate Guard Room
Lalbagh West Gate Guard Room is an artistic, tiny structure of granite with high ornamentation and architectural styles. It is in shape of lantern with glass windows and ventilators at all the directions. It is situated between the two iron gates opening towards the Basavanagudi extension to the western side of Lalbagh. Hence, the gate is called the Basavanagudi gate or Lalbagh west gate. During night times when the electric bulb in the lodge is lit the whole structure appears like lantern from a distance and its lantern effect is visible from all the directions. It is a guard room mainly meant for a watch-man, who could sit inside and watch the surroundings vigilantly, as he could peep in all the directions through the glass windows.
Perhaps, many of the present generation people do not know that this structure is a transplant. Earlier, it stood at the entrance of Dewan P.N.Krishnamurthy's Bungalow (Present Post & Telegraph building lies behind international Hotel by the side of the Race Course road). Way back in 1940's, when the area around the P.N.Krishnamurthy's Bungalow changed hands, and a part of it was acquired by government the compound wall and the guard room at the main entrance was ordered to be dismantled. Fortunately, the then Dewan Sir Mirza lsmail and then Director of Horticulture Sri H.C. Javaraya went round the area to inspect the dismantling work. Sri Javaraya was attracted by the ornamental granite guard room and it struck to his mind an idea to save this beautiful structure. He spontaneously requested Sir. Mirza lsmail permitted Javaraya to do so not knowing the idea behind it. Javaraya did not give any clue about the transfer of the structure to Llalbagh. He silently engaged skilled workers for dismantiling the structure, before dismantling, each stone of it was numbered from top to bottom. These numbered stones of the structure were carefully removed and transferred to the Lalbagh. For erecting the guard room at Lalbagh, a suitable location at the western side was selected. The stones of the Gate Lodge were refabricated at the selected site which is very close to the Basavanagudi extension. It took about two months for erecting the lodge, at a cost of Rs. 5,250. The surrounding area was beautified with lawns newly laid out. After completion of the whole process of transplanting and beautification, Sri Javaraya invited Dewan Sir Mirza lsmail to see the marvelous feat. Sir Mirza was overjoyed and appreciated Javaraya for his efforts and skill in conserving the beautiful structure, which was at the verge of demolition. But for the zeal and strenuous work of Javaraya, this beautiful and lovely 'masterpiece' would have been out of sight of people of Bangalore as well as that of many visitors to Lalbagh.
Lalbagh Museum is an elegant structure with artistic features, situated at north-east corner of Lalbagh rock. This structure was once a museum building. It is 'cottage like' building and has main hall with corresponding parallel antechambers at each side. Two spacious rooms at either side have projected windows, antechambers and separate passages. The building is symetrical in form, design and shape and has elevated tile roof, which affords enough light and ventilation. Perhaps, the hall with high walls was used to exhibit botanical specimens. The building faces west and from west and form its entrance a straight road of a kilometer length runs up to the Directorate building. This road encircles the building, and making it carefree with lawns at either side of the road in the front.
Lalbagh Cottage is an artistic, tile roofed, spacious, handsome structure. The elevated verandah has wooden lattice screen at either end with a span of about eight feet adds beauty and grace to the building. The interiors are well ventilated with wide open projected windows, which have both wooden slit panels as well as glass panels. The building has a rectangular shaped innercourt yard. Originally built in the year 1893 for the Curator of the Lalbagh gardens, it is situated at north-east corner of Lalbagh. It has two office chambers in the front portion. A main passage between these office rooms leads to the inner court yard and compartments. At present some offices such as statistical unit, and record section, are housed in the building.
Lalbagh Main Entrance Gates (Cameron Gate)
The main entrance is situated at northern side of Lalbagh near the western wall.
The main entrance was designed in the year 1891, when Mr.Cameron was Superintendent of Lalbagh. The gates were erected in the same year. For some years, the entrance was called Cameron gate.
The main entrance consists of three gates side by side and railings at either side running about fifty feet length terminating at the gate lodges and further after the gate lodges the railings run up to a point about 20 feet beyond gate lodges. These lengthy railings are erected with an idea to present a glimpse of Lalbagh to the by passers in the road. The whole structure is made out of wrought iron, manufactured at the famous MacFarlane and Company, Glasgow, London. The gates are very elegant, artistic, and are quite strong. The gates as well as railings have spikes at top which endanger men or animals trying to jump over into Lalbagh. The entire structure is in crescent shape with vast frontage. All the gates are hinged to strong, chiseled granite columns. The main gate is mainly meant for entry of vehicles and the other two gates at either side are for exit of vehicles.
The main entrance of Lalbagh is very important and significant. All the dignitaries enter the lalbagh gardens through the main entrance. The entrance has a permanent welcome banner at a little hight over the main gate. An hymn given to Lalbagh by national poet, K.V.Puttappa, is superscribed on the banner. It reads "This garden is the abode of God". As the letters are artistically fabricated out of glass neon bulb, at night times the hymn of the poet strikes the eyes of every visitor.
It consists of vast ground enclosed by iron mesh. The deers of Lalbagh could walk, jump and gallop in their area as there is no menace of other animals or human beings. At north west corner of this ground, there is a simple, tile roofed, elevated, free standing structure, which offers shelter to the deers during sunny hours and rainy season.
Lalbagh Director's Bungalow
Built in the 1860s before the time of John Cameron, Lalbagh's first director, the bungalow is heritage in terms of architecture and importance. The government has decided to rope in experts of the Indian National Trust for Cultural Heritage (INTACH) for the ongoing restoration of the more than 150-year-old Horticulture Director's residence. (Apr 2014)
The building, which was built to serve as the residence of the Superintendent of Lalbagh, currently houses the horticulture library. The building has a verandah and roof styles that include the jack arch, Madras terrace and a sloping roof with Mangalore tiles.
The Director's Bungalow was built around 1865 initially as a small cottage. Additions happened later on to include the kitchen annexe, the front porch, stables and so on. There were several ornamental features in the bungalow that go with the formal gardens outdoors. There was a pedestal bird bath, outdoor jardinieres and architectural details like wooden trellises. The first occupant was curator William Neu who looked after the botanical gardens. The second occupant was ABlack, also a curator for the gardens. John Cameron was the next occupant who was then the Superintendent of Lalbagh. The first Director who stayed there was G H Krumbiegel and after him it was the turn of H C Javaraya who retired as the Director.
It is situated in the shade garden located between statue garden and terrace garden. It is a circular building and has four entrances, one in each direction. There is a running gallery round the building at its exterior walls and also in its interior walls. The exterior gallery housed aviary earlier. Now the aviary is closed down. Aquarium is housed in interior galleries. The Aquarium is being maintained by the Department of Fisheries.
Lalbagh Lake is situated at the southern end of the very famous Lalbagh Botanical Gardens that is well known for its exotic flora and is host to the world famous flower show. The lake is spread across an area of about 40 acres and has a maximum depth of 3.5 metres. The lake is a prime attraction for nature lovers as well as tourists.
The Lalbagh Botanical Gardens was established in the year 1760 by Hyder Ali. It is believed that the lake was one of the main reasons for Hyder Ali to set up the park. However, the credit for the development of this natural lake and its surrounding areas goes to the then Superintendent of Lalbagh, James Cameroon. He was the person who commissioned the lake in 1890 to provide water to the botanical garden. Under his orders the bund was built and ornamental steps leading to the lake was constructed. He also set up a waste weir to the lake.
Bonsai Park inside Lalbagh is spread across 2.5 acres. The various Bonsai trees are kept on the benches arranged in a particular format making it convenient for public. There are around 500 bonsai plants aging from 5 to 35 years. Trees such as Jackfruit, Tamarind, Banyan tree etc., here are grown in pots in the miniature form. The Bonsai Park is entered through the the 40-foot-high pagoda gate. Bonsai Park was opened for public from the first half of the year 2011.
There are 700 bonsai plants aging from 5 to 35 years compromising of different varieties of tree species. These plants are exhibited for public viewing during flower shows.
Lalbagh has a dedicated Rose Garden.
Lalbagh Lotus pond is adjacent to the Lalbagh Lake, and if you visit it during the blooming season, the whole pond is pink with lotuses. You might also spot a few birds and reptiles here.
Fossil trees are relatively new introductions to Lalbagh. This park houses two fossil trees - one near the west gate and another near the bandstand.The fossil tree near the west gate is 20 million years old. This tree was brought from the National Fossil Park, Tiruvakkarai, in South Arcot, Tamil Nadu. As both these fossils showcase trunks of the dead trees, they are called Polystrate or Upright fossils.
Topiary Garden is one of the main attraction inside Lalbagh. Temperature plants like Juniperus and Cypress are tainined and maintained on steel structures of different shapes of animals like elephant, panda, lion, tiger, etc. this garden is another attraction for children.
Pigeon Colony was established during the year 2007 near the West gate Lal Bagh. A triangle platform was developed with landscaped garden to attract the pigeon population. Lal Bagh is a home for 16 different types of birds. This attracts the bird watchers and children and will be a part of Biodiversity, which will increase the awareness about fauna in the garden.
Jaivik Krishik Society
A Nodal agency for promotion of organic farming certification, value addition and marketing of organic produce in Karnataka. The JKS is a federation of organic farmer groups, aiming at promoting fair trade practices in organic farming.
The Jaivik Mal is established mainly to cater to the needs of health conscious consumers of the people of Karnataka in general and the citizens of Bangalore, is particular. It is a model organic outlet, established during the year 2007 by the society near the East gate (double road gate) of Lal Bagh. Here a variety of organic fruits, vegetables, spices, condiments, food grains etc are available throughout the year.
Green Water Recycling Plant
As per the global and national trends, sewage water has now acquired a distinction of "water resource", especially for non - portable applications, like Horticulture. The waste water recycling plant, with a capacity of 1.5 MLD, has thus been set - up in the premises of the Lal Bagh Gardens, near the South Gate to meet the Horticulture water demand of the Garden.
The waste water recycling plant treats the sewage, biologically and the treated water with sure disinfestations by chlorination and ultraviolet treatment is used for the Horticultural water requirement of the Lal Bagh Gardens.
Tree branches which resembles Elephant Trunk, present in Lalbagh.
Silk Cotton Tree
White Silk Cotton Tree (Ceiba pentandra) in Lalbagh Botanical Gardens, Bangalore is about 200 years old.
White Silk Cotton Tree has a buttressed trunk and grows to a height of 25-30 metres. It blooms in spring and has huge orange scarlet flowers with five petals.
White silk cotton obtained from the fruits is used in making pillows and beds. Wood of the tree is very light and often used to make packing cases.
Regular training courses on fruit and vegetable processing, mushroom cultivation and ornamental gardening and horticulture are offered to the public by the Department of Horticulture. The Dr. M.H. Marigowda National Horticulture Library is a reference library with a good collection of books on horticulture and allied subjects. Coconut saplings can be procured from Lalbagh Gardens.
The Directorate of Horticulture,
Karnataka State, India.
Phone Number: 080-26570181
The Deputy Director of Horticulture (Gardens),
Karnataka State, India.
Phone Number: 080-26578184
Flower arrangement course and classes, mushroom cultivation training business consultants, gardening courses, horticulture courses are also conducted in Lalbagh Botanical Garden. Seeds and Plants are sold by Hopcoms inside Lalbagh Bangalore. Lalbagh offers Mushroom Training on Mushroom Growing in Lal Bagh Botanical Garden for Mushroom Exporters.
Driving direction with two wheeler from Lalbagh West Gate to Maharaja Hotel, Kormangala 4th Block; Banashankari Bus Stop to Lalbagh and more are given.
The over 100-year-old Krumbigal Hall in Lalbagh was built by British officer Krumbigal during his stay in Bengaluru. On May 16, 2015 Minister for Kannada and Culture Umashree, instructed the department to take over the renovation works, following media reports on the sorry condition of the building. The building comes under the purview of the Horticulture department. The Horticulture department has been asked to hand over the building to the Archeology department.
Lalbagh Botanical Gardens set for a facelift after 50 years
Lalbagh Botanical Gardens, one of the historic parks in the City, are set to get a major facelift for the first time in the last 50 years.
The Department of Horticulture, which maintains Lalbagh, has proposed to renovate four gates, the glass house, Krumbigal Hall, the centenary fountain and the aquarium. The facelift will cost Rs 29.2 crore. Lalbagh has several heritage buildings such as library, auditorium and British-era houses which have now been converted into offices. For example, Krumbigal Hall, located near HMT Towers, could be used for conducting meetings and functions once renovated. The landmark garden hasn't received the attention it deserves. Its four gates need to be repaired and given a facelift. They are rusting and do not even close properly. Besides, the height of the boundary walls has to be increased.
The aquarium has been closed for over two decades and its building is in a dilapidated condition. They are planning to introduce native and foreign aquatic species of fish. There is a plan for demolishing the structure or renovating it. Once it opens, it will be an added attraction for children and will increase footfalls to the park. We are consulting the Fisheries Department on this.
The department also plans to create an Anthurium house which will have all varieties of the flower. A separate orchid area and an insectivorous plant house are also on the cards. On March 26, 2014, the department had proposed renovating the library, the training room and the aquarium. But work could materialise only on the library. The Indian National Trust For Art and Cultural Heritage was hired as consultant. Work here is under way here.
Mango Mela at Lalbagh
On 26th May 2018 Friday, Mango Mela was officially launched jointly by the Karnataka State Mango Development and Marketing Corporation Limited (KSMDMCL) and the Federation of Karnataka Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FKCCI). The mela will be open to the public from 10 am onwards on Saturday and it will continue till June 15. Stalls have been set up at Lalbagh, Cubbon Park and FKCCI premises on KG Road. Some of the mango varieties available at the mela are Amrapali, Malgova, Raspuri, Sendura, Totapuri, Chinna rasa, Kesar, Amlet, Peddarasam, Khuddus, Banganapalli, Chinnarasam, Kalappad, Sendhura, Mallika, Dashehari, Raspuri, Rumani, Alphonso (Badami), Langra, Sakkabegutti and Totapuli.