Kolhapur is a city situated in the southwest part of Maharashtra. Kolhapur serves as the headquarters of the Kolhapur district. Before Independence, it was a 19 gun zalute princely state ruled by the Bhosale Chhatrapatis of the Maratha Empire. Kolhapur assumes a place amongst the cities having highest per capita income in the country and it's one of the fastest growing cities in Maharashtra.The survey conducted in 2011-12 clearly showed that kolhapur district has per capita income (yearly) of Rs.1,01,044 which is 5 th highest in Maharashtra state and there has been an increase of Rs.17,000 as compared to the earlier survey conducted in year 2010-11. 'Kolhapur' is the fourth city in the Maharashtra state after Mumbai, Pune and Nashik where Maharashtra State government has allowed to construct high rise buildings up to 35 meters taking into consideration the rapid urbanization and tremendous growth of this city. Kolhapur is known as 'dakshin (south) kashi', 'historical capital of maharashtra state', 'door of konkan' as well as 'city of wrestlers ' and 'city of arts'. It is also known as a 'city of palaces and temples'. Kolhapur is situated on the banks of the river Panchganga and is the location of the Temple of Mahalakshmi, a Hindu goddess.

According to Hindu mythology, Kolhapura was settled by Kolhasura, a demon who was later killed by Mahalakshmi to relieve the local populace. However, honouring the demon's dying wish, the city was named after him. Kolhapur finds mentions in Devi Gita, the final and most important chapter of the Srimad Devi Bhagawatam, as one the important places of Shakti "Kollamma" worship, "Devi spoke:..."O King of Mountains! Still I am now telling something out of My affection to My Bhaktas. Hear. There is a great place of pilgrimage named Kollapura in the southern country. Here the Devi Laksmi always dwells...."

During 940-1212 CE, it was the capital of the Shilahara dynasty of Kolhapur. An inscription at Teradal mentions that king Gonka was healed from snakebite by a Jain monk and Gonka built a temple of Lord Neminath. Many Jain temples in this region build in the next few centuries are called Gonka-Jinalya after him. During the reign of Bhoja I, a dynamic Acharya Maghanandi helped establish an institute at Rupanarayana-Basadi. Several kings and nobles of the dynasty were disciples of Maghanandi. Maghanandi is often called Siddhanta-chakravarti i.e. the great master of the scriptures, Gandaraditya I was his disciple. He is sometimes called "Kolapuriya" or walyaa to distinguish him from many other Acharyas with the name Maghanandi.

Kolhapur was the site of intense confrontation between the Western Chalukyas and the Chola kings Rajadhiraja Chola and his younger brother Rajendra Chola II. Following the Battle of Koppam in 1052, Rajendra Chola II marched on to Kolhapur and erected a jayastambha or victory pillar in the city.

The Kopeshwar (Shiva) Temple, located in Kolhapur district, was built by Shilahara King Gandaraditya, Vijayaditya and Bhoj-II between 1109 and 1178 AD. Kolhapur, historically had a major influence and connections with the prevalent kingdoms of Greece/Rome.

Kolhapur Train Timings

Train name Train no. Arrives Departs Starting Station End Station
Rajkot - Secunderabad Special 718 22:25 22:30 Rajkot Junction Secunderabad Junction
Coimbatore - LTT Express 1014 10:35 10:45 Coimbatore Junction Lokmanyatilak T
Chalukya Express 1018 02:15 02:20 Yesvantpur Junction Dadar
Konark Express 1019 19:00 19:10 Mumbai CST Bhubaneshwar
Chennai - Mumbai Mail 1028 23:20 23:30 Chennai Central Mumbai CST
Chennai - Mumbai Express 1042 09:35 09:45 Chennai Central Mumbai CST
LTT-Madurai Express 1043 03:55 04:05 Lokmanyatilak T Madurai Junction
Chennai - Dadar Express 2164 21:35 21:45 Chennai Central Dadar
Samparkranti Express 2629 07:50 08:00 Yesvantpur Junction H Nizamuddin
Hussain Sagar Express 2701 01:20 01:30 Mumbai CST Hyderabad Junction
Ajmer Express 6210 18:30 18:40 Mysore Junction
Trivandrum - Mumbai CST Express 6332 16:30 16:40 Trivandrum Cntl Mumbai CST
CSTM - NCJ Express 6339 15:50 16:00 Mumbai CST Nagarcoil Junction
CSTM - NCJ Express 6351 15:50 16:00 Mumbai CST Nagarcoil Junction
NCJ - CSTM Express 6352 16:30 16:40 Nagarcoil Junction Mumbai CST
CAPE - CSTM Express 6382 00:40 00:50 Kanyakumari Mumbai CST
Ghandhidham Express 6506 18:30 18:40 Bangalore Cy Junction Gandhidham Junction
Jodhpur Express 6508 18:30 18:40 Bangalore Cy Junction Jodhpur Junction
Udyan Express 6530 15:45 15:50 Bangalore Cy Junction Mumbai CST
Garib Nawaz Express 6532 18:30 18:40 Yesvantpur Junction Ajmer Junction
Coimbatore - Rajkot Express 6614 02:05 02:10 Coimbatore Junction Rajkot Junction
RJT - SC Express 7017 22:25 22:30 Rajkot Junction Secunderabad Junction
Hyderabad Express 7031 16:30 16:40 Mumbai CST Hyderabad Junction
BVC - Kakinada Express 7203 22:25 22:30 Bhavnagar Trmus Kakinada Town